Outer Order

My favourite happiness author, Gretchen Rubin, recently posted a quote that totally spoke to me.

Secret of Adulthood: Outer order contributes to inner calm. To a surprising degree. @gretchenrubin

Yesterday while my daughter was napping, I finally folded and put away her clothes. The clothes have been piling up for for weeks. They were irritating me every time I looked at them. Some were still in the laundry room and the rest was growing out of control in her crib (she still sleeps in her bassinet, not with the clothes). Her drawers were pretty much empty and I was searching for an outfit among the piles. After folding the last item, this wash of relief flooded over me. I really did start to feel some inner calm.

The clothes were contributing to a growing sense of panic and hopelessness inside that I couldn’t put my finger on. Once the clothes were cleaned, I found it easy to put away a few dishes, move a table that had been bothering me, and take out the recycling. After everything was in order I felt lighter and calmer.

I even felt less guilt for staying inside the past couple days while being sick.

I’ve tried to sick to a regular cleaning schedule since having a baby (otherwise doing it all is too overwhelming). But once I slacked in one area, it had a domino effect into other areas. As soon as this starts, I know my mood changes. I feel a panic but don’t know where to start.

Ten minutes of cleaning is definitely worth an inner calm the rest of the day.

Check out Gretchen Rubin’s website for more happiness tips:  http://www.happiness-project.com

 

 

One thought on “Outer Order

Leave a Reply

