Collecting Stuff and Losing My Mind

A friend of mine recently questioned my shopping. ‘Don’t you feel empowered when you don’t buy something?’ she asked. Sadly, my answer was no. I want things; I need things.

When I see an item I want, I can picture it in my life. I can imagine my lifestyle with it and see how much it would improve or create the perfect image. A toy for Annika equates a better childhood and makes me the perfect mom. If I don’t purchase the item, I can’t stop thinking about it. I agonise over whether or not I should have bought it. I feel sad that I won’t have it in my life.

Unfortunately, these emotions that I’ve equated to stuff has caused me to rack up my credit card. All of a sudden those great feelings of acquiring things has left me in debt and feeling panicky.

I recognize that I would much rather be able to teach my daughter how to be good with money than have every toy and decoration. I am sure I will also be a better mother under less stress.

So I’m getting back on track. I am taking my head out of the sand and recognizing that the debt isn’t just going to go away. I will live on cash from now on (cutting up one of my credit cards as soon as I sign off). I used to follow the advice from Dave Ramsey and was able to cut a huge chunk of my debt off. I think it’s time to re-read his book.

When shopping, I will really try to remember that the pain of being in debt will far outlast the small joy I get in purchasing an item. Which I almost find funny writing because it’s also something I have to remember with food. Many of the foods I eat, I choose because of the pleasure I experience while eating them. I have to remind myself that the happiness I will experience being at a comfortable weight will far out weigh the pleasure I’m experiencing while eating.

I guess it comes down to a few things, making conscious decisions and acknowledging emotions rather than eating or purchasing them.

2 thoughts on “Collecting Stuff and Losing My Mind

  1. Awareness of our habits is the starting point. So, I would say you are on the right track. Remember that there are many forces that would like to see us buying all kinds of unnecessary trinkets and things to keep unhealthy societal systems in tact. Happiness will never be found in such things. Balance is the key for all of us. You are not alone in your struggles. We all face them at some time or another.

Leave a Reply

