TV Cheater

I’ve avoided posting lately. I vowed to give up TV and I’ve totally cheated! I’ve felt too guilty to write. I’ve been wrestling with whether or not I should feel guilty though. I know I vowed to give it up for lent, but I’m not Christian so really I was choosing to give it up for myself. And I do feel good about giving up the mindless time spent sitting watching something that I don’t really care about. However, there are a couple shows out there that I truly enjoy. I watch them through on demand, so I avoid all the commercials and I just enjoy the story. So is that bad?

I spent some time with my aunt, uncle, and cousins last week. They have no cable and the kids spend time doing art or crafts inside or games outside. They often play family games and finish every day reading a family story. Such better quality time! They aren’t losing out or missing anything by having no cable.

Either way, I’ve decided to revise my declaration of no TV. Instead of ditching it all together, I’m going to limit myself to one show per day. If I’m truly enjoying watching that show, then what’s the harm. However, I want to ensure that I’m watching it only when baby A is asleep. That way I’m only affecting my time.

So I may be a cheater, but I’m enjoying it.

One thought on “TV Cheater

Leave a Reply

