Back to Reality

I was dreading the activity I had planned for myself today. I’d arranged to go snowshoeing with a girlfriend and her son who is two weeks younger than A. For some reason, I get major anxiety before snowshoeing. I’m not sure exactly why. Maybe because I’m afraid it will be too hard or because I always do it with someone else and I’m nervous I won’t be able to keep up. Either way, once I start I’m always fine.
Today, however, was a bit of a wake up call. I am out of shape. I’ve never been a skinny girl, but I’ve always considered myself fit. I realized today that I am far from fit and most likely almost always have been. I’ve created some alternative reality where it was ok to carry some extra pounds because I was fit. But a fit person could have made it up those hills without huffing and puffing and getting red in the face.
Time to wake up to the truth and do something about it! This week’s workout challenge will be a good start and a way to push me into some better habits.

Leave a Reply

